Before you go fishing anywhere in Colorado, it’s essential that you get the correct fishing license or permit. When it comes to the law, there’s no excuse, so be sure to check in with state regulatory bodies to ensure that you have the correct permit and that bag, size, and season limits haven’t been changed since the last time you went fishing.

In the following guide to buying a fishing permit in Colorado, we’ll cover everything you need to know, including:

If you’re trying to plan out a fishing trip in the United States this year, you need to check out the Best States for Fishing: A Comprehensive Guide for Anglers to get the low down on the best states to go fishing!

Every angler, even experienced ones, sometimes needs a little help finding the best fishing spots, especially if you’re new to an area or on a destination fishing holiday. Thanks to the premium Fishing Forecasting App, you’ll know the ideal time to get out on the water and when you’re better off sleeping in.

Types of Fishing Licenses

If you are a resident or non-resident over the age of 16 and plan on going fishing in Colorado, you are required to purchase a fishing license or permit. Below are the different types of fishing licenses:

The specific fishing permits anglers can buy include: 

  • Resident Annual.
  • Resident Youth Annual.
  • Resident Senior Annual.
  • Resident 1-Day.
  • Resident Additional-Day. 
  • Resident Senior Low-Income Lifetime.
  • Resident Disability Lifetime.
  • Resident VA Lifetime.
  • Resident First Responder Lifetime. 
  • Extra Rod Stamp.
  • Resident Combination​​ Small Game & Fishing (NEW). 
  • Resident VA Combo Or Lifetime Combo (NEW).
  • Resident First Responder Lifetime Combo (NEW).
  • Non-Resident Annual. 
  • Non-Resident One Day. 
  • Non-Resident Five Days. 

For more information about the different types of fishing permits available in Colorado, please visit the Colorado Parks & Wildlife website. Please note, license types and costs are subject to change and it’s the responsibility of the angler to stay up to date with any and all changes.

Cost of Fishing Licenses

Below are the different types of fishing licenses and their corresponding costs.

  • Residents aged 18 plus the annual Colorado fishing license is $36.71.
  • Residents aged 65 and over, the annual license is $10.23.
  • Residents can also purchase a one-day pass for $14.46 and an additional day for $7.05.
  • Teenagers aged 16-17 can purchase the youth license for $10.23.

If you wish to purchase an additional rod stamp you may do so, but it doesn’t include an increase to bag limits.

Any Colorado residents who are on active duty in the military can fish for thirty days without a license while they are on leave. All leave papers must be carried on the person while they are fishing.

Permanently disabled Colorado residents can apply for a free lifetime fishing license. 

Any military veteran who has a service-connected disability rating of 60% or more can obtain a lifetime combination of a small game and fishing license. 

Any first responders who have a permanent occupational disability could also qualify for a combination of small game and fishing licenses through the new First Responders Program.

Non-Resident Fishing License Costs

  • Annual License – $104.40.
  • One Day – $17.64.
  • Five Days – $22.53.
  • All additional days are $11.28.

If you are a resident or non-resident over the age of 16 and plan on going fishing in Colorado, you are required to purchase a fishing license or permit. If you are under the age of 16, you are not required to buy a permit. 

For more information about the different types of fishing permits available in Colorado, please visit the Colorado Parks & Wildlife website. Please note, license types and costs are subject to change and it’s the responsibility of the angler to stay up to date with any and all changes.

Age Requirements for Fishing Licenses

If you are a resident of Colorado or a non-resident who is over the age of 16 and plans on going fishing anywhere in the state of Colorado, you are required to purchase a fishing license or permit. 

There are reduced-cost licenses available to anglers aged 16-17.

If you are under the age of sixteen, you are not required to purchase a permit. 

Where to Obtain a Fishing License

Anglers in Colorado have three ways to purchase a fishing license:

  1. You can purchase them online via the Colorado Parks & Wildlife website.
  2. By visiting any of the Colorado Parks & Wildlife offices in person.
  3. By phoning 1-800-244-5613.

Complete Guide to Colorado Fishing Licenses – Conclusion

Before you plan your next fishing trip in Colorado, ensure you have all the appropriate licenses and permits. By being responsible anglers, following all size, season, and bag limits, leaving fishing areas clean, and returning any unwanted or excess fish, we can all protect fishing environments for generations to come.

Fishbox utilizes premium forecasting technology, allowing anglers to track weather conditions to predict the optimal time to go fishing. It analyzes weather patterns, fish behavior, and tidal and lunar conditions to tell you the best time to get out on the water.

Get your personalized fishing map

Answer a quick quiz and get your own personalized fishing map

The premium Fishbox App was created in collaboration with expert fish behavioral analysis and accurate weather data and by experts. Thanks to these advanced forecasts, anglers will significantly be able to increase their catch rates while reducing wasted time. Let’s be honest, though. A day spent fishing is a day well spent.

If you have any questions about angling permits in Colorado, including where to buy a permit or license, please don’t hesitate to comment below!

Any question about the article?

Please use your work e-mail, so we can connect with you

Other articles

Complete Guide to North Carolina Fishing Licenses

If you’re planning on going fishing in North Carolina, then the first thing you’ll need…

Complete Guide to Louisiana Fishing Licenses

Anglers in Louisiana are fortunate to be blessed with some fantastic fishing, but if we…

Complete Guide to West Virginia Fishing Licenses

If you’re planning on fishing in West Virginia, you’ll need a fishing license. If we…

Contact us

    Leave a reply